_GOTOBOTTOM
Constructive Feedback
For in-progress or completed build photos. Give and get contructive feedback!
Some Pictures of my builds so far
FIREBIRDC9
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 95 posts
Armorama: 81 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 28, 2011 - 12:14 AM UTC
I am relatively new to modeling and still do not know any advanced painting or weathering methods

All i use are my brushes and revell enamel paints
Any suggestions on how to improve using what i have without buying more as i am in a monetary crisis at the moment
Cheers

Any advice on simple weathering techniques without having to buy new equipment would be thankede considerably
Cheers guys
Karl187
Visit this Community
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 3,094 posts
Armorama: 2,942 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 28, 2011 - 02:42 AM UTC
Well Jack I think your figures and tanks are pretty good for a brush and some enamels. Not sure about the red-coats and the Challenger though- fairly sure thats not historically accurate !

You say you are in monetary crisis- that sucks- do you have any funds to spend? There is some cheap equipment out there that could lead to a marked improvment in your finishes without too much cost.

If you haven't got the funds to spare then some pointers (apologies if some if this seems condescening- I'm not sure of your skill/experience so I'm just writing some basic, relevant things) :

1. Thin your paints nicely before applying them- if this is done sufficiently then the visible brushstrokes in the paint is lessened. Be sure to mix them up thoroughly aswell before using them.

2. Make sure the thinner your using isn't too dirty- if you have it in a pot to clean the brushes change it out before it gets too dirty.

3. Don't mash your brushes off the bottom of a cup etc when you wash them of paint- rapidly swirl them about- this keeps the brush better for longer.