_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: British Armor
Discuss all types of British Armor of all eras.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Tasca Sherman Hybrid Ic Firefly
clovis899
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 774 posts
Armorama: 605 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 06:31 PM UTC
This is a follow-up to Jim's recent "Cracking the Box" episode featuring the new Tasca Sherman Firefly hybrid hull Ic, reference number 35-027. Rather than do a traditional build review I wanted to change things up a bit; I hope you will indulge me in this journey. When I am done with this I will package it up and submit it as a build feature if James is so inclined at that point.

First, the disclaimer; I have been building for many years but am not really what you would call a Sherman expert, maybe more of an aficionado but that's about it. Well, lets see where this takes us.

Okay, the obligatory box top photo. If you want to see the contents before being disturbed check out Jim's video, besides I never took a picture of the contents!

Here is a bit of the bogie assembly before it has been actually assembled. The kit provides three styles of road wheel (complete sets of each!) pressed steel solid spoke(the option I took), open 5 spoke, and pressed steel dish. Along with this you get three choices of drive sprocket; two styles of fancy smooth and plain (sounds like an order at a bad roadside diner!)