_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Scratch Build 101
hliu24
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 798 posts
Armorama: 797 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 24, 2013 - 02:08 PM UTC
Finally have to get out of my comfort zone, How do you guys build things from scratch? what kind of Basic material and tools will be needed for building and measuring ?

Any opinion will help.

Thank you so much

Jay
corsutton
Visit this Community
Oklahoma, United States
KitMaker: 544 posts
Armorama: 511 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 24, 2013 - 03:38 PM UTC
Well, I am no expert at scratch building but when I do it, I use Evergreen Styrene and Plastruct Styrene. They offer all different sizes of round, square, flat, half round, hex rods; different variations of flat strip, and sheets of various thickness that are generally easy to cut and shape. I mostly use a plastic welder, Tenax, Bondene, Weldene, or Ambroid to secure the styrene together.

For measuring, I use digital calipers. They are pretty cheap at Harbor Freight. I also use a miter box with a stop in it to cut several pieces all the exact same length.

Hope that helps and good luck!
mother
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 3,836 posts
Armorama: 1,370 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 24, 2013 - 04:41 PM UTC
You can achieve with a small amount of basic tools. Here is what I use…

And Everegreen Plasic. Sizes, well that's up to you for what you will be building.

You pretty much know what everything is, however I’ll pass on some tips. Get yourself scale cards, you can find them on-line, look under “The Scale card”. They are great for scartchbuilding, say you need to make a part that is 7ft 9in. well take the card out, lay it down and presto; the card does it for you. They are marked out in feet and inches.

Mechanical pencils work better than a regular pencil, they don’t leave heavy graphite residue and can be painted over.