Tamiya JGSDF Type 90 + Eduard photoetched
Roca46
Visit this Community
Tarragona, Spain / España
KitMaker: 57 posts
Armorama: 57 posts
Posted: Sunday, September 01, 2013 - 09:10 PM UTC
Hello friends from Armorama,

After a long time since my last post on the build of the Chinese tank ZTZ99, I start this progress topic for the tank Type 90 by Tamiya in 1/35 scale.

During this period of time I have been making a Tiger Hybrid that my father bought for himself and then decided to not to make it so before making the Type 90 I thought it would be fun for gaining weathering experience and also do some experiments, tank is finished and photos will be uploaded in my website soon. I am not an expert into weathering these kinds of vehicles, so with modern tanks I guess I feel with more confidence.

Talking about the present project, I am going to use two photoetched sets, both from Eduard, one is the mesh (ref 35591) and the other is the completed set (ref 35634).

About this detail set, it is discontinued since 2011, I contacted Eduard to know where to find this set since I saw it out of stock everywhere, but they told me it was discontinued and that they are not planning into re-issuing it again, so I searched through Ebay and I was lucky to find it

Looking at the photoetched instructions I can say that this will be a long project too, it has many small photoetched parts so I hope to upload photos of the step by step as I did with the Chinese tank.
The main idea I have for this tank is to modify to suspension to make it look like in this photo:

I have already completed the stage of the suspension so at the moment only the suspension arms are glued to the hull.

The process of making this position was to cut the small pointed pieces of the hull, these parts help the suspension arms to be positioned in a neutral and equal position, so by cutting the parts the arms become free.