A Rainy Day in Belfast - Landrover VPK Piglet
RKinsella
Visit this Community
Dublin, Ireland
KitMaker: 603 posts
Armorama: 575 posts
Posted: Monday, September 02, 2013 - 02:35 PM UTC
Hi guys

It has been a while since I've been here on Armorama.
For the past 3 years I've been distracted from wheels and tracks and have been engaged in other modelling projects.

I've decided to come back to the fold and post my latest creation. I spent just a few hours here and there over a 7 week period toying around with this small diorama. I had little spare time and it was a quick build but I must admit it was great fun!

In sticking with the theme of my last few build blogs I had a niggling itch to complete a project I'd started back in 2010.
To produce a late Armored Landrover Series III as used in N.Ireland by the British Army, affectionately known to Squaddies as the "Piglet".

When I returned to my Piglet project this year, I had been doing research on & off for almost for 3 years.
Now I'm bursting with ideas for more armored Landrover model builds so I hope to contribute more build blogs here in the future, including completing the blog from 2010.

https://armorama.kitmaker.net/forums/155903

I called this Diorama "A Rainy Day in Belfast"

The dio is circa 1978 and based on a photo of a genuine vehicle.

This Landrover is an early Makrolon Armoured vehicle otherwise known as a LANDROVER SERIES III VPK (Vehicle Protection Kit),

This vehicle has been stripped down. There are no doors as I can only assume it was used by Royal Marines or Para's at some point, this being a signature trait of theirs at the time.
The Landy is fitted with a Macrolon VPK kit. This features Armour plating fitted to critical points of the vehicle to reduce exposure and limit the damage inflicted by small and medium sized caliber rounds.
The Armour also provided limited protection from indirect IED blasts which by the mid 1970's was taking a heavy toll on the British Army in Ulster.